top of page
Graduation Caps

Discover inkquills

A creative platform by Department Of Communicative English , Chinmaya College Of Arts, Commerce And Science

Post: Welcome
Search
  • Writer's pictureinkquills

New year and hope

Updated: Jan 14, 2021

"I am gonna make it." She entered the party hall with me even though she didn't want to go. She loves spending time alone nowadays. She was a very active positive girl back in high school. We all loved her. She is the main reason why most of us had our attendance full. You may be wondering why she didn't want to join the party right? Yeah, there is a reason behind that.She was actually fighting blood cancer which changed her life. She was 20 when she realised that she had cancer and that gradually changed every single thing in her. She was in a depressed state where she even stopped talking to her close friends. She spent her day and night in her room alone crying and staring at the wall blaming herself. Her parents were sad because of her pathetic situation and they were also ready to provide good treatment , but she refused to take that. All she thought about was ending up alone without taking anything from this stupid world or the people. She hated this world .She spent two years without talking a single word. Her mom used to keep food at the door. She never wanted to see anybody's face. Her parents saw her only when she went for her medical checkup! After 2 years the treatment results were good. It started working and the doctors talked to her parents about her mental condition too. If she is going to spend her days in that room it will affect the treatment and her health condition. The doctor told them to make sure that she talks to someone every day. I accidentally saw her parents at the hospital and they told me about her current condition. The next day I went to her home to meet her but she refused to meet me. Another day passed by , the same thing happened and continued for 8 days. On the 9th day, she finally allowed me to meet her. I went to her room. Everything was different. The room was very scary, I literally couldn't stop crying after seeing her condition. Then the next day I started behaving very normally with her. I was trying to bring back the old her but she had zero interest to come back to the old her, but I didn't stop. I started making her feel that nothing has changed, everything is same just as before. I used to talk to her for hours and one day I saw her laughing which was the best laugh I have ever seen in my entire life. That made me cry in front of her. She hugged me tightly . I didn't expect that hug, it gave me the confidence to get her out of her struggles. And finally it was the end of the year. I was waiting to take her to her old friends from college and school. We arranged a party for her. At first she refused to join us but she finally decided to meet everybody which I never expected from her. We both dressed up, we both entered the hall. The whole room was smiling at her, hugging her right, she cried so hard.

She was going to cut the new year cake. "I am gonna make it" these words were written on it. All af us started counting '5,4,3,2, and 1', we all waited for a second smiling at her and she said loud "I am gonna make it." She repeated it 5 times and they all hugged her. She was never gonna go back to the older stage blaming herself, I thought. We all talked like old times and we almost spent the whole night talking about things which made us alive, that made us happy. Finally, I dropped her at home. I was able to see a new version of her who wants to live peacefully and happily. She entered the home and hugged both her parents and gave a kiss on their forehead and said " I am gonna make it ." They were surprised and they couldn't stop crying. She went to her room and stared at the same wall and said " I am gonna make it." Everything has changed and she now believes in the word "Hope."


By Nehla Veliparambil Shameer

I B.A.Communicative English

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page